The finish of the first run. - Reisverslag uit Loncopué, Argentinië van Jorrit Vries - WaarBenJij.nu The finish of the first run. - Reisverslag uit Loncopué, Argentinië van Jorrit Vries - WaarBenJij.nu

The finish of the first run.

Door: Jorrit

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Jorrit

25 April 2013 | Argentinië, Loncopué

Note: Google doesn´t even know where I am now, so it might be indicated incorrectly on the map below. But that doesn´t matter: I am in Caviahue, a actually existing town in the Province of Neuquen, 27 years young.

The finish of the first run of my travelling, you might wonder why? I have only just begun, haven´t I? Well, nonetheless it´s a good time to draw up the balance so far (or is that too much Dunglish?:)) because my dearly beloved girlfriend is joining me soon in my journey (:D!), because I am leaving Patagonia soon, because I am really starting to thinking in Spanish now, and some futile reasons more. In a sense I feel that a new part is about to begin, and that alone is enough to put me in front of a computer with the best worst internet connection. (But hey, even at the foot of a half-active Vulcanoe, there IS internet!:))

In some of your reactions to my blog, you let me know that it´s all nice and fluffy, these poems and literature-like stories, but after reading it you still don´t really know what I am DOING here (in the first place). Well, you´re right, I´ve been flying sky-high with inspiration and ideas a bit foot-loose, so thanks for putting me back on the ground again: I haven´t lost my dreaminess, but at least I am aware now. So, for the eager analytical, down-to-earth, calculating among you (and the less so as well), here is a extensive draw-up of the balance so far, neatly ordered in consecutive digits (:P). Let the numbers speak for themselves.

In a subtle 72 days:
- 1 time spontaneously invited by a local family
- 2 trekkings (15 days in total)
- 2 stays at families
- 2 bikes rented (or just taken)
- 2 concerts given with an audience over 15 persons
- 3 times stranded while hitchhiking, having to spend the night on a unintended place
- 3 drumkits I played on
- 5 campings I stayed at
- 5 buses I took, mostly just in and out of town rides
- 6 times of crossing a border (so far only ARG-CHI and vice versa)
- 6 carton boards that indicated my destination (and I need a new marker now)
- 6 days spent sick in bed or at the seat of a truck (story on it´s own)
- 6 guitars I played on (but I think it´s more)
- 8 provinces I got to know, Chilean and Argentinian
- 14 hostels I spent a night or more in
- 31 hitchhikes, 2 of whom were Trucks
- 126 pages of Travel Journey written (I need a new booklet)
- 1500 kms, the largest stretch one hitch ever took me (Chalten-Bariloche)
- +/- 6000 kms travelled (1/5th of the Equator) of which at least 5000 hitchhiking

(Approximate variaty of people met: 4% Dutch, 11% German, 13% French, 9% American, 34% Argentinian, 14% Chilean, 15% rest)

An interesting thing is that I am starting to become partly Argentian. The first time I noticed this was when I spent some time in Chile and crossed borders again into Argentina. Standing on Argentinian soil again somehow made me feel strangely - at home. I felt I knew exactly how to act, speak, ask, and drink mate...I could reckognize the differences between the countries. Nice and exotic feeling, which I didn´t expect to have in Argentina! What I like most of Argentina are it´s people: In a country that was once one of the richest in the world, and has a ubiquitous corruption system (Yes, corruption is embedded in the system here) people here seem to regard their nationality as a part of a system quite laughable. It might be a sad thing that they lack anything that binds them politically, but it definitely gives rise to a population with strong minds, highly individual personalities and with absolutely no fear. This might strike you as a uncomforting place to go on vacation to, but it is a perfect place to go out to on adventure. The two-on-two conversations during the numerous hitchhikes gave me lots to think about as of my own nationality and roots, and has shown me that behind this facade of individuality lies a yearning to share time, share stories and for openness to converse. All you have to do is smile and ask: ´Mate?´. (For the non-experts: Mate is a drink of herbs that Argentinians drink troughout the country: It is shared and is more about the passing time together than the quality of the drink)
Remarkably enough my leaving of Patagonia comes at a right time: For the first time since mid February, I felt tired of the endless steppes and eternal distances: Ofcourse there´s a hell of a lot more desert up north, but I´ve been told that it´s different from the Patagonian steppe: It has to be, because these fields are unique in their kind. It has been a unforgettable two months.

Some anecdotes:
- Complicated simplicity while hitchhiking>
´Sir, do you know what is the altitude of Caviahue?´
´Yes, I do! It´s lower dan Copiahue!´

- I still don´t know wether the streetdogs here a supersmart, yearning for some food or both: They can come along with you on (multiple!) day treks and pretend to be your guardian angel like you´ve been raising them for 10 years. When the food comes out of your backpack it´s prime time and they come sit next to you with their sweetest eyes: ´Haven´t I guided you perfectly in my disguised beggin-trap?´. Uhu.

- My birthday has been a blast: Thank you for all your birthday wishes and ofcourse the contributions I was begging for. I stood up, had this great walk with a mixed group of people with a real ´Buena Honda´ (Literally translated: Good vibe, but meaning so much more) , genuine laughter and conversations. Inthe evening I enjoyed a great dinner and last but not least: A real chocalate-peach birthday cake! I get lucky now and then... (If it wasn´t for the free beers that night)

Allright, I´m going to head on, enjoying the fine cappuchino in this cosiest-ever bar/internet cafe! Before you know it there´s a new blog coming!:) In a few days Santiago de Chile will be on my hitchhike board and I hope to meet some new and old friends up there.

Thanks for enjoying my blog:)

ps. Earplugs are a traveller´s best friend.

  • 26 April 2013 - 08:16

    Annemarie:

    Ha Jorrit,
    Nu pas tijd genomen om jouw laatste twee berichten te lezen, sorry. Heel erg mooi, prachtig, jouw verhaalstijl. In je vorige bericht vanuit verschillende (niet voor de hand liggende) perspectieven, een mooie vondst. Moet je uitgeven joh. Overigens kun je hiervoor ook benaderd worden door waarbenjij.nu , zo is de ervaring van een vriend van me n.a.v. zijn berichten in Cambodja ! Veel van wat je vertelt is herkenbaar, van alles, ook al die grensovergangen steeds weer was ik vergeten terwijl dat soms toch wel heel veel tijd gekost heeft ... het drinken van de mate natuurlijk in die prachtige bekers of hoe noem je die ook alweer ? En die sfeer van Patagonia altijd weer die wind ook, jouw gevoel van thuiskomen als je vanuit Chili weer in Argentinië komt, herken ik niet zo, ik had het geloof ik juist meer andersom maar er kan natuurlijk heel veel veranderd zijn in die 7 jaar (ik was er begin 2006).
    Geniet er nog van, ik geniet volop met je mee :-)
    Lieve groet vanuit Breda

  • 26 April 2013 - 11:58

    Fanny:

    Great update great cousin!

  • 26 April 2013 - 17:52

    Margaux:

    Goede verhalen Jorrit! Leuk om te lezen. En die earplugs is een goede tip, zal ze zeker meenemen op mijn reis ;) haha. Enjoy! x

  • 02 Mei 2013 - 22:57

    Phoenix:

    I just started reading your blog (because you typed it into my compy just now jajaja), and this is an awesome post for a new reader to start with! You've got a great writing style and sense of humor; lots of fun to read!

    If you are looking for a new booklet (aren't we all?), there's a good place in Paris at Costanera Center — a bit pricey, but good quality. There are also a couple of librerías at Costanera Center and along El Bosque Norte (nearby street) that might have what you are looking for. If you want, we can go out together to check it out sometime this week (:

    Super excited to have met you and to have you staying with us! I know big cities usually aren't your thing, but there's a ton of things to do here — I think you're going to enjoy it (:

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Jorrit

Actief sinds 22 Okt. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 720
Totaal aantal bezoekers 58677

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Januari 2014 - 18 Maart 2014

Intern in Colombia

14 Februari 2013 - 18 Juli 2012

My second journey

31 Januari 2009 - 18 Juli 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: