1400 kms and an Atlantic. - Reisverslag uit Puerto Madryn, Argentinië van Jorrit Vries - WaarBenJij.nu 1400 kms and an Atlantic. - Reisverslag uit Puerto Madryn, Argentinië van Jorrit Vries - WaarBenJij.nu

1400 kms and an Atlantic.

Door: Jorrit De Vries

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Jorrit

24 Februari 2013 | Argentinië, Puerto Madryn

Argentina; it´s name originally derived from the latin word for silver or money: Argent. At around 1500 A.D., spanish conquistadores took hold of an area which is now in Bolivia and started exploiting silver throughout the world from the famous Potosî mine. Using a route that was designed by the Inca´s, the Spanish abused the enslaved indians to take the silver all the way to Europe. That´s what the river alongside Buenos Aires got it´s name from: Rio del Plata, or River of money.

Quite interesting that none of the Argentinians which I´ve bumped in so far seemed to know this. They just take it the way it comes and that may be a reason for the situation the country is in nowadays, shortly said. Im glad having this books with me that tell me about the country, which makes me open up my eyes to far more interesting details. You can only see what you know, right?

About 1,5 weeks in Argentina now, and already so much has happened. I could go into detail, but since I´ve done that in my booklet which covers more than 25 pages already, I´d like to give you a summary. Moreover, you (mostly) busy Europeans probably aren´t waiting for a novel on my blog. So here it is, in 10 days of Argentina I´ve:
- Had trouble recover from a 27 hours flight via Istanbul.
- Had 2 Hitchhikes which took me around 800 km down south.
- Walked and partied around Buenos Aires with two lads from New Zealand.
- Watched over the enormous emptiness of the Argentinen Pampa´s
- Been invited to the wonderful family´s Rodriguez home after they took me for a hitchhike.
- met an unbelievable man from germany who´s biking the world on his own. (www.radtraum.de) What a great experience hearing his stories. (and trying to talk german all night)
- and let me stay over for 2 nights to get to know their village, their family life and their interesting vacation activities such as eating the best icecream and going kayaking. (It´s summer holidays here now!)
- been shocked by the mean Argentinean prices.
- been worrying about the climate change that seems to be taking place here: When in Carmen de Patagones there started coming hail stones out of the sky, something very extraordinary in a place where it´s normally very dry and warm. A lot of locals AND backpackers are talking about it.
- tried to cut myself loose from the European rythm and dive into the backpackers pace: with moderate succes.
- biked troughout Bahia Blanca finding only pollution while trying to reach the sea, while there was no one on the streets due one of the many national feast days.
- learned more and more that Argentina is a peculiar country. The residents don´t regard themselves argentian, they don´t feel bonded with each other. The families seem to come at the first and only place.
- pushed myself to let all the fallen down spanish dust come up again in my head. I forgot a lot in the last 3 years but I´m getting there again, day by day.

The drive to see much of the country has already made my come halfway to the southest point of Argentina, I have to learn to calm down making miles. I´ll stay around this place a few days to try out my tent (finally) on the Isla del Valdes, where there´s supposed to be killer whales/orka´s this time of year. When you ask yourself what am I doing on the computer writing this story while there´s actually wildlife like that around: It´s been raining (odd) since last night and all tours or buses to the Island are cancelled. I´ll try another time tomorrow.

Since I´m here I´m trying to write and get a better view about my life in Europe. I´ve envisioned it like being in a plane. When you are taxying at the airport your still beneath the clouds, in the rain and mists, seeing only your direct surroundings and feeling a little disconnected from anything that is further than a stone´s throw away. Your still in your rythm of waking up, going to work of school, meeting up friends and eating, maybe going out and doing it troughout the whole week.
When you´re ascending, you´re right in the middle of the clouds, right there in your own thoughts, emotions and feelings. Everything seems solid, time seems to stand still, you only know that you´re moving ahead at superspeed without any foreseen destination.
Then, it starts getting lighter and lighter, and scurds of blue start to pop-up from the window. Still, your flying right through your thoughts and emtions are still coming down, but more and more a general picture starts to form. More light is coming and making things clearer. And than you´re there above the clouds, flying in the sun in a sharp light blue sky.
Somehow this is an answer and a new question to the previous story, a submission to any pilgrimage undertaken by anyone. I don´t have the illusion that I´m there yet but I can surely say that the Patagonian landscapes help me see. As do all of the nice messages you´ve sent me the last weeks. Thanks everyone, for supporting me and being enthusiastic for me.

That leaves me for now, going for an attempt to do such daily things as finding a working ATM, reading on in books, waiting for the rain to pass out and such stuff as dreams are made on. Easy, tranquilo. I wish you all the best wherever you are, in snowy white Europe or co-traveling somewhere around the world. Take (give) care!




  • 24 Februari 2013 - 17:16

    Mahi:

    Jorritje!
    Being located in another South American destination, ascended from hectic Europe, I really enjoy reading your vision of Argentina and the ultimate travel experience :). You sure know how to capture the Argentine experience in a few sentence, envy you for this talent Ill never master..
    Keep the blogs coming!

    Abrazo de Cusco!
    Mahi

  • 24 Februari 2013 - 18:22

    Fanny:

    Cous! Jaloers, Jaloers en daarom kom ik je achterna. Nou ja, halfbakken dan ;) Ik ga Istanbul ook maar eens bezoeken. Hoe lang mocht je daar wachten en heb je er nog wat kunnen zien? Dan hoor ik de tips graag. Zo niet, schrijf dan maar meer van deze mooie verhalen! Besos!

  • 24 Februari 2013 - 22:10

    Geertje:

    Hoi Jorrit,

    zo te lezen ben je nog in een erg europees tempo in de weer? klopt dat? zo niet dan ben ik daar blij om, zo ja dan kan ik alleen maar zeggen....laat het over je heen komen en het tempo zal vanzelf in een rustiger en dus contemplatiever stadium komen. In het hier en nu genieten van waar je bent en wie je allemaal ontmoet en spreekt, thats what it is all about, toch?

    groetjes Geertje

  • 24 Februari 2013 - 23:38

    Lotte:

    Inspiring!

  • 26 Februari 2013 - 21:49

    Snijplank En Charlie :

    Beste roze knorrige knor,

    Vanuit Nederland met de voeten in de plomp, verzoeken wij jou na dit hemelse verhaal onze reactie te lezen in je mailbox.

    SHOWER OF LOVE!!!!!! (een echte met roze pluche hartjes, glitters en eenhoorns)

    We miss you;)

  • 01 Maart 2013 - 23:33

    Jorrit:

    Hey zeg, Charlie en Snijplank,
    Ik heb niks ontvangen?! :) xx Jorrit

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Jorrit

Actief sinds 22 Okt. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 492
Totaal aantal bezoekers 58673

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Januari 2014 - 18 Maart 2014

Intern in Colombia

14 Februari 2013 - 18 Juli 2012

My second journey

31 Januari 2009 - 18 Juli 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: